writing

Words Matter: My Fav Reads of 2015

I’m fairly sure that it’s cliche to say that becoming a great writer requires one to be a voracious reader. Nevertheless, I believe it’s true. I’ve loved books since forever. The way a writer strings words together has been known to make me fill up with so much emotion I just knew I’d eventually burst into a million pieces. Those who know me well, know that I’m not beyond crying tears of joy when I walk into a bookstore because…well…all the possibilities!

Books are both escape and captivity for me. This year, some set me free in ways I could have never imagined, others held me bound by the beauty of their stories.

2015 was a great reading year for me–a good mix of fiction and nonfiction–and I’d like to share some of my favs with you. Enjoy!

(in no particular order because…well, with such good books, how do you even do THAT?!)

***

The Star Side of Bird HillBrilliant from page one. 

starside

A Brief History of Seven Killings  (Very) Complex. (Very) Challenging. (Very) Worth it.

sevenkillings

 Xenogenesis/Lilith’s Brood Series: Dawn, Adulthood Rites, and Imago I mean, seriously? Why do I even write? Octavia Butler is incredible. If you’re into Sci-fi/speculative fiction or would like to be, read these books. 

xenogenesis

 

The Year of YesSpoke to nearly every facet of who I am: mother. creative. entrepreneur. 

yearofyes

The Turner House Amazing characters. I was there with them. On every page. 

turnerhouse

For The LoveI mean, does she live with me? How does she know? Great read!

forthelove

Big Magic An entirely new way of seeing creativity and its relationship with fear. Fascinating. 

bigmagic

Rising Strong Shame doesn’t live here anymore. (In my Faith Evans voice).

risingstrong

Welcome to My BreakdownOne heck of a journey. And one I’m glad I took. 

breakdown

Between the World and Me Heart-wrenching. True. Timely. A must read.

between

Till the Well Runs Dry Just some really incredible writing. And a story that will engross you from the beginning. 

tillthewell

DisgruntledBecause: Philly. And, of course, amazing storytelling. 

disgruntled
God Help the Child Toni Morrison. That’s all you really need to know. *bows to the queen* Harkens back to her earlier work.

godhelpthechild

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up – Shifted the way I think about stuff. A must read if you are prone to clutter.  

tidyingup

The Sisters Are Alright.We really are. And I’m glad someone decided to say why. 

sistersalright

The Rapture of Canaan Unexpectedly good. I never left the story. 

raptureofcanaan

The Art of Memoir Because Mary Karr knows all the things when it comes to this genre. Good!

artofmemoir

MY FAV RE-READS

Ordering Your Private World – My yearly read for a reason. An inner life that’s cared for is critical to one’s growth.

ordering

The Ragamuffin Gospel It’s where the whole concept of “tilted halo, living by grace” came from. So…yeah.

theragamuffingospel

 

WHAT WERE YOUR FAVORITE READS IN 2015?

One thought on “Words Matter: My Fav Reads of 2015

So...your thoughts?

